Chernobyl is Peak HBO

Time to break away from all this work stuff and talk about what really matters, mindless TV shows! After being hugely disappointed with HBO’s Game of Thrones last season and Deadwood The Movie, I was about to pull the plug until I got sucked into the Chernobyl  miniseries. Its mind boggling how good that show is. It’s also mind boggling how distant the incident seems in my memory. 1986 was my freshmen year in high school. I remember perestroika and the cold war movies like red dawn, but the details of the disaster seemed always a shadow of mystery. I’m likely still going to cancel HBO, but I’m grateful about this lost piece of nostalgia. Also made me think about how every theater experience I’ve had the last few years has been disappointing but TV seems to be bringing better quality/story writing. Just truly odd when you think about how TV use to be ( back in the 80s) and now its cutting edge story telling.

Leave a comment